A Comedy of Errors

WARNING: You are about to experience a vast quantity of first world problems that will likely result in enough eye rolls to make your head hurt.

Yesterday was one of those days where nothing seemed to go right. For starters it was a beautiful sunny Sunday and I couldn’t drink a mimosa. Boo hoo. Poor me. We had bacon and eggs for breakfast, and I swear it didn’t taste the same without the bubbly goodness. To make us feel better I made “fauxmosas” with grapefruit flavored sparkling water and fresh orange juice. Drinking it out of champagne flutes definitely helped sell the experience.

Back to things not going right… After breakfast I decided to head down to the pool to relax in the sunshine for a few hours and try to even out some rather interesting tan lines I acquired during my birthday trip to Napa. I was obviously not the only person to have this idea. It felt like the entire apartment complex exploded around the pool (that’s what happens when it’s 75 degrees in SF on May 1st). Everyone was having their own little pool party. There were chips, and dip, and burgers, and beers, and bottles of bubbles. And I was NOT  a happy bunny. (I’m aware that this doesn’t warrant any sympathy and I need to get over myself).

To help distract ourselves from the fact we were not having our own Sunday funday pool party we decided to go for a walk on the beach. That’s always good for the soul. While we were out I suggested we grill outside and eat dinner al fresco by candlelight. It was such a nice day after all. At least it was until we returned to the apartment in a wind strong enough to send Dorothy to Oz. Oh, San Francisco. New plan – throw our steak on the BBQ and keep warm in the hot tub while it cooks (yes, there’s a hot tub as well as the pool. In fact there are three of each. Remember when I warned you about the first world problems and the eye rolls… You’re welcome).

False alarm on the hot tub… the pool parties had managed to turn them into a murky, slimy mess – no thanks! At least we had some tasty mocktails to keep our spirits up. My brunch fauxmosas inspired me to muddle some mint, lime, raspberries and top them off with sparkling water. Pretty tasty. But we agreed there was something missing. Namely vodka/rum/cachaca. Shocker.

Because I am doing the cooking for 3 meals a day for 2 people 7 days a week I’m presently doing a lot of multi-tasking. Turns out multi-tasking to this degree can result in a few mistakes. Yesterday I made berry spinach smoothies, poached (AND fried) eggs & bacon, sausages with grilled onions & salad, cacao & banana chia pudding, mushroom, bell pepper & salami “pizza” breakfast egg bake, garlic, herb & lemon chicken thighs, chimichurri sauce, grilled flank steak, fried mushrooms, grilled asparagus and roasted Yukon Gold potatoes. And here are all the things that went wrong…

  • I threw chia seeds on the floor. Chia seeds. On. The. Floor.
  • I threw sparkling water on the floor
  • I burnt the pizza egg bake (like, really burnt it – I’m going to need a take 2 before I write about that one!)
  • I made overly garlicky chimichurri sauce
  • I overcooked our steak
  • I undercooked our asparagus
  • I served cold mushrooms

Moral of the story, Sundays are for day drinking in the sunshine, not juggling all of the cooking. Thankfully there will only be two more of these Sundays (possibly for the rest of eternity).

If you want to attempt a more successful version of last night’s Argentine feast that was not served al fresco by candlelight, here you have it! Excuse the terrible photography – I’m going to do something about it eventually.

Chimichurri Steak with Asparagus & Roasted Potatoes

IMG_2581

INGREDIENTS

  • Whatever steak you like the best – I got flank, but skirt is another decent, cheap option
  • 12 small Yukon Gold potatoes, chopped in half
  • 14 spears of asparagus
  • a handful of mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • salt & pepper

Chimichurri sauce

  • 1/2 shallot
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • juice, 1 lemon
  • 2 packed cups flat leaf parsley
  • 1/2 cup fresh oregano
  • 1/2 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 cup and
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt & pepper

METHOD

  • Put all your chimichurri ingredients in a blender and pulse until it’s the consistency you want it. I like mine pretty finely blended like a pesto.
  • Season your steak and cook to your liking. I loved the charred outside from the grill, but we should probably have removed from the grill about 5 minutes earlier. Downside of cooking in the almost dark.
  • Toss your potatoes in 2 tbsp olive oil, paprika, Italian seasoning and salt & pepper. Spread on a baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes until brown and crisp.
  • Blanche your asparagus spears for 3-5 minutes in hot water. Remove and place in an ice bath to prevent any further cooking. When your steak is almost done, throw the asparagus n the grill to give it a nice char.
  • Sautée the mushrooms in 1 tbsp olive oil just before you’re ready to serve.
  • Drizzle some chimichurri over your meat and enjoy with a glass of Malbec. A girl can dream.
Leave a Reply

