That’s Not a Sausage

For almost 9 years I have been debating with my dear American friends about what constitutes a sausage.

The definition, according to Google is “a food usually made from ground meat, often pork, beef or veal, along with salt, spices and breadcrumbs, with a skin around it.”

Nowhere, I repeat nowhere, in that sentence is chicken mentioned. Do you know why that is? Because there’s no such thing as a chicken sausage. At least there isn’t where I was raised. To me a sausage is minced – ground – pork and some seasoning stuffed in a casing – intestines – and shaped into links. Here, it’s literally any meat and accompaniment combination you can think of stuffed into a casing and often cooked before it’s even put in the packaging (sacrilege).  Pineapple & mango, portobello & swiss cheese, spinach & feta DO NOT BELONG IN A SAUSAGE.

Here ends my sausage rant.

During Whole30 I am trying to find different ways to consume lean protein that aren’t just ground turkey or chicken breast. So I finally bit the bullet and decided to test run one of these chicken apple sausage combos. I jazzed it up with some eggs and peppers for a quick lunch over the weekend. It’s not the worst thing I ever put in my mouth, but it certainly won’t be added to my breakfast repertoire when this program is over.

Chicken Sausage & Bell Pepper Scramble

IMG_2339

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Aidell’s chicken apple sausage, chopped
  • 1 cup Trader Joe’s frozen bell peppers
  • 2 organic eggs
  • salt & pepper

METHOD

  • Fry up your sausage with the bell peppers until everything starts to brown.
  • In a separate pan scramble your eggs until they are done to your likeness.
  • Combine all the ingredients, add salt & pepper.
  • Put on a plate. Eat. And try not to think about the crime you just committed by consuming a sausage made out of chicken (OK, that last part is just for me).
One thought on “That’s Not a Sausage

Leave a Reply

