Hard Boiled Heaven

In my office we spend an almost alarming amount of time discussing the finer points of egg boiling. My boss, who shall be known as Captain, is quite the egg boiling expert.

I have always been able to boil a decent egg, but since taking tips from the master, I have now truly nailed the humble hard boiled egg.

As part of my wheat-less January I’ve been trying to find new things to snack on. The idea of consuming a whole boiled egg was, at first, unimaginable. I mean, I like eggs, but that’s a whole lot of egg in one go. My apprehension didn’t stick around long… for the last two weeks I have consumed two hard boiled eggs a day as my mid morning snack.

Although they are high in cholesterol they are also a great source of protein and perfect for an energy packed morning snack.

So, I give to you, thanks to Captain, the perfect hard boiled egg recipe.

2015/01/img_3745.jpg

The Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

  • Remove a dozen eggs from your fridge and allow them to come to room temperature.
  • Take a large pan of water and place on high until boiling.
  • VERY carefully place your eggs in the boiling water, ideally using a slotted spoon.
  • Add the eggs to the water as quickly as you can so they all cook as evenly as possible.
  • As soon as they are all in set your timer to 9 minutes.
  • While the eggs cook put ice cubes and cold water in a big bowl. This is going to serve as the ice bath to cool the eggs down as soon as they are ready.
  • At exactly 9 minutes, remove the eggs using the slotted spoon and place in the ice bath. The ice will likely melt due to the heat of the eggs, so keep adding more cold water to keep the temperature down.
  • Once your eggs are cooled simply place in the fridge until you are ready to consume them.

In my office we simply peel them, add salt (and a little pepper for me), and devour. But not before comparing our yolks! I prefer my yolks to be a rich orange colour and only just set in the center. Never skimp when buying eggs – trust me, you notice the difference when you eat them every day!

For a great tip on how to peel the perfect egg click here.

3 thoughts on “Hard Boiled Heaven

Leave a Reply

