Making Mountains Out Of Molehills

Definition: an idiom referring to over-reactive, histrionic behaviour where a person makes too much of a minor issue.

Something that I have become famous for over the years, is making exuberant dinners centered around one lowly ingredient, that just happens to be lying around the kitchen.  I’m pretty sure I suffer from OCD when it comes to not throwing food away.

This habit has seen me create extravagant meringue desserts solely to use up 3 leftover egg whites. On a Monday. In an empty house. Rather than just disposing of the 3 egg whites that cost, let’s say, a grand total of approximately 30 cents, I venture out to purchase sugar, cream, and strawberries, to be sure I don’t waste those precious little egg whites. In other words, I make a big deal out of something that really doesn’t warrant the attention I give it.

Pretty ridiculous, I know.

Today’s example of this habit found me looking for ways to use up some leftover Camembert that was only going to stink out my fridge if I didn’t do something with it. So, in standard Sarah fashion I went to the store on my way home to pick up chicken breasts, prosciutto, pesto, sweet potatoes and broccoli. Now my leftover $5 Camembert has turned into a $25 dinner for one. At least I have epic leftovers for lunch!

The end result was chicken breasts stuffed with Camembert and pesto, wrapped in prosciutto with sweet potato mash and broccoli. And it was a pretty damn tasty way to spend money I didn’t need to, to use up food I could have just thrown out.
But where’s the fun in that?!

Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Camembert and Pesto Stuffed Chicken Breasts

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 8 slices of prosciutto
  • 2 tbsps pesto
  • 6 slices of Camembert

METHOD

  • Cut a pocket in your chicken breasts using a sharp knife. You don’t want to cut them in half, because then the filling will escape.
  • Spread some pesto in the pocket, and lay the slices of Camembert on top of this. Squish the chicken back together, so you can’t see any of its insides.
  • Lie four slices of prosciutto down onto some cling film. Place the chicken breast at the top and roll it up until the chicken is totally covered in prosciutto. Do the same with your second breast. Unwrap them from the cling film.
  • Stick 2 toothpicks in each breast to keep them together while cooking. Place in an oven that’s been preheated to 425 degrees F and bake for about 30 minutes. Some of the filling is likely to escape, but if you can collect it up and pour it over the finished product – delicious, cheesy goodness.

I served the chicken on a bed of mashed sweet potato. I baked the potatoes at 425 degrees for an hour then scooped out the insides and mashed with salt & pepper.  A handful of broccoli added a green finishing touch.

A very satisfying Monday night dinner!

Leave a Reply

