Show Me Some Skin

One of the times I miss England the most is when I am sick.  There is a certain level of comfort in having familiar things around you when you are feeling under the weather.  From your favourite childhood snack, to medicine you grew up taking, and being able to call your Mum and say “I don’t feel well!”.

The last few days I have had some kind of stomach bug, that didn’t exactly place me on my death bed, but it meant I couldn’t bear the idea of eating for approximately 36 hours.  Which is a worryingly long time for me.  As my appetite has started to return, the only thing I really feel like eating is potatoes.  Probably because they are at the top of my comfort food list.

Whenever I was sick as a child, I would be fed peanut butter on toast and hot Ribena (a blackcurrant cordial drink) until I felt up to eating proper food.  Which would usually be when I’d graduate onto mashed potatoes. When I had my braces fitted as a teenager, I was in so much pain that I hardly wanted to eat at all. Knowing how shocking this was for me, Mum actually pureed an entire roast dinner for me so I could eat with the rest of the family.  Lots of mashed potato was featured that week too.

Tonight, I was craving something salty as well as comforting, and the only thing that seemed to fit the bill was loaded potato skins.  I definitely wasn’t in the mood to spend long in the kitchen, but I also didn’t want to go to Safeway and buy a box of TGI Friday’s frozen skins.  So I grabbed some medium potatoes, a few strips of bacon, some spring onions, cheese and sour cream and set to work.

And guess what the best part is?  Leftover mashed potatoes for dinner tomorrow night!

20130313-221110.jpg

Loaded Potato Skins

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 4 spring onions, diced
  • 4 strips of bacon, cooked & chopped into bite sized pieces
  • lots of your favourite kind of cheese
  • lashings of sour cream
  • salt & pepper

METHOD

  • Bake your potatoes in an oven at about 425 degrees F until the skins are crispy – about an hour.
  • Meanwhile cook your bacon, however you like to cook your bacon. For me that’s on a baking tray in a 425 degree F oven for about 15 minutes until nice and crisp. Chop up and set aside.
  • Slice your onions and grate your cheese.
  • Once your potatoes are ready, cut them in half and scoop out almost all the fluffy insides and save for tomorrow night’s dinner.
  • Replace the potato innards with bacon, onions, cheese and seasoning.
  • Return to the oven for about 10 minutes until the cheese has melted and is starting to crisp around the edges.
  • I love to eat my skins covered in sour cream, but serve with whatever dip takes your fancy.
Leave a Reply

