Frost Yourself

Seriously, I mean it.  If you feel like treating yourself anytime soon, make this frosting.

Disclaimer:  If you dislike peanut butter, stop reading now.  If like me, you could eat peanut butter out of the jar, please continue.

I made some cupcakes for Miss Anderson’s birthday last October, but was in such a rush I didn’t write down the frosting recipe, and I have been kicking myself ever since.  Because it was de-licious.  Like, can’t stop licking it off the spoon good.

I probably should confess – I am not a huge cupcake fan [insert gasp here].  I think I enjoy baking them, more than I enjoy eating them.  Until I stumbled across this frosting.  Obviously I used my standard chocolate cupcakes recipe (I promise I will get round to writing about another cake recipe one day!), and whipped up a batch of peanut butter mousse frosting to swirl on top.

As with almost all my cupcake posts, this frosting is also incredibly easy.  And foolproof.  I guessed measurements the second time I made them because I couldn’t remembered exactly what I did the first time, but it still worked out perfectly.

So please, peanut butter lovers, make a good decision…  Frost yourself.  You won’t regret it.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Standard chocolate cupcakes recipe

Frosting

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 4 tbsps unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp salt

METHOD

  • Whisk the cream until soft peaks form and then set aside.
  • Put all your other ingredients in another bowl and mix (ideally using your pink KitchenAid mixer’s paddle attachment) until they are well combined and creamy. 
  • Fold your whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture using a large metal spoon until only just combined.  Make sure not to over mix it, as you want a light, mousy consistency. 
  • Swirl on your cupcakes and stick a chocolate covered peanut in the top of good measure!
Leave a Reply

