Eggs Sombrero

I felt like spicing things up for breakfast this morning.  I wanted eggs, but was in the mood for something more than just plain old scrambled or fried .  My desire for a fancier breakfast may have something to do with the AMAZING brunch I enjoyed last Sunday at Barndiva in Healdsburg.  It might quite literally have been the best brunch I’ve ever had.  Goat cheese croquettes, duck confit hash and a passionfruit lemon bar.  Obviously accompanied by a few delectable cocktails.  My waistline is glad there isn’t a Barndiva located in SF.

So today I had some time on my hands and decided to rustle up breakfast with a little Mexican flare.  I wasn’t really sure what I was making until I literally put it together on the plate.  I just knew the kind of ingredients I wanted to use, and took it from there.

There is something very satisfying about having potatoes for breakfast, especially when they are roasting in the oven and a spicy aroma fills the kitchen.  So I knew this had to be a part of whatever I was making.  I also picked up some chorizo, avocado and cilantro from the store, and got to work.

The end result was my take on a traditional Eggs Benedict   Without the muffin, or the ham, or the hollandaise.  So, it was actually nothing like an eggs benedict apart from the fact I poached an egg.  Either way, it was delicious.

My concoction was a red potato, red pepper, spring onion, chorizo hash, with black beans, avocado, cilantro, topped with a poached egg and some tapatio.  The only time consuming part was waiting for the potatoes to roast, but I cut them up really small so it only took about 20 minutes.  The chorizo added a salty, spicy kick to the potatoes and tasted amazing covered in runny egg yolk with a sliver of avocado and a dusting of chopped cilantro.  Hooray for being able to buy amazing avocados in February.  I heart California.

I enjoyed my breakfast with a grapefruit mimosa, but had I been better prepared I would have made a Paloma.  This is the perfect breakfast cocktail to pair with what I am officially naming Eggs Sombrero.

IMG_4736

Eggs Sombrero

Serves: 2
Cooking time: 30 minutes

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 small red potatoes, diced into small cubes
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced into small cubes
  • 6 spring onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup chorizo (take the meat out of the casing)
  • 1 cup cooked black beans
  • 1/2 avocado thinly sliced
  • a handful of chopped cilantro
  • 2 tbsps olive oil
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp garlic salt
  • 1 tbsp black pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp white distilled vinegar
  • tapatio / hot sauce / salsa to taste

METHOD

  • Toss your potatoes in olive oil, spices and seasoning.  Place on a baking tray and cook until crispy at about 425 degrees F.  It should take approximately 20 minutes. 
  • In a frying pan, cook the chorizo until it is fragrant and crumbly in texture.
  • Take the potatoes out of the oven, cover with cooked chorizo.  Add the red pepper and spring onion and stir around until well distributed.  Return baking tray to the oven for a further 10 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, boil a saucepan of water, add in a splash of distilled white vinegar – this will help keep the eggs together while poaching.  Crack both eggs into small dishes and set aside.
  • When the water is boiling furiously, take a whisk and make a tornado in the pan.  Drop the two eggs into the middle of the water tornado.
  • Cook until they are done as you like them.  I like hard whites and runny yolks, and this usually take about 4-5 minutes.
  • Once ready, remove the eggs from the water using a slatted spoon and set on a plate.
  • Now you are ready to start building your breakfast.  Start with a layer of chorizo / potato mix, top with the black beans, then the avocado and sprinkle over the cilantro.  Place the egg on top, drizzle with your hot sauce / salsa of choice, and dig in quickly to get maximum runny yolk effect.
2 thoughts on “Eggs Sombrero

  1. I like the treasured information you give you in the content articles.I will bookmark your web site and examine once again below often.I’m rather certain I will know a good deal of recent things most suitable below! Great luck to the next

Leave a Reply

