Heavenly Clouds Of Hazelnut

Apparently, today is World Nutella Day. Not sure what that means in practice… do people bake with it, eat it straight out the jar with a spoon, or just smother it all over each other? Practice for Valentine’s Day maybe…?

None of those options really appeal to me, because I actually don’t care for nutella, as outlined in my last post. But I know I am an exception to the rule.

The hazelnut-chocolate combo’s number one fan is my dear roommate Neon. So for her birthday, I turned my standard chocolate cupcakes into hazelnut-chocolate cupcakes with the addition of a nutella-injected frosting. I also threw in a filling of salted caramel just for fun.

429048_572648134228_1190146897_n

Chocolate-Hazelnut Buttercream Frosting
(adapted from Humingbird High)

  • 1.5 cups icing sugar, sifted
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons cream
  • 1/2 cup Nutella

Mix together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy Add in the Nutella, and mix until combined. Pour in cream and whip for 4-5 minutes until you have a fluffy cloud of hazelnutty happiness!

 

Leave a Reply

