Consider Me Addicted

To these delicious morsels of chocolatiness (yes, I just made up a word).

And although I ADORE chocolate, I am a little surprised by just how much I love these cheesecakes.  Due to the participation of Nutella.  Which I am NOT a fan of.

I happened upon this recipe while Googling desserts to make for my Girls Night Christmas Dinner – yes that’s an official event requiring capitalization – back in December.  I decided this Food & Wine (aka my cooking bible) recipe  would work perfectly for the occasion due to:

  • Simplicity – I was cooking on a weeknight.  
  • Cheapness – cooking for 12 people is expensive.  
  • And  portion size – no one can usually squeeze in much dessert after my dinners!

Chocolate cheesecake is commonly my dessert of choice, if presented to me on a menu.  I’ve also made some pretty delicious ones in the past myself (that one day I’ll get around to posting) including a Gordon Ramsay endorsed Ginger Chocolate Cheesecake and Martha Stewart’s Triple-Chocolate Cheesecake.  But if you don’t want to feed the five thousand with your dessert, then this bake-in-cupcake-tray-cheesecake-recipe might be just what you are looking for.

They take two seconds to whip up (I’m almost being serious), and only a few minutes to bake.  You can make them the day before so they are perfectly chilled for your event, or you can pop them in the freezer right out of the oven.  Either way, do your very best not to grab a spoon and start eating them right out of the baking tray.  Not that I am speaking from experience or anything.

IMG_4134

Mini Chocolate Hazelnut Cheesecakes
(Adapted from Food & Wine)

INGREDIENTS

  • 15 cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies
  • 2 tbsps raw or roasted hazelnuts, skinned
  • 2 tbsps unsalted butter, softened
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup hazelnut-chocolate spread, preferably Nutella
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tbsps sugar
  • 2 tbsps mini chocolate chips

METHOD

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F, then line a 12-cup cupcake tray with cupcake cases, and spray them with a light mist of vegetable oil spray.
  • In a food processor, combine the cookies, hazelnuts and butter and process to very fine crumbs.
  • Divide the crumbs among the cups and, using a flat-bottomed glass, press on the crumbs to compact them, then bake for 5 minutes.
  • Mix together the cream cheese, Nutella, sour cream, eggs and sugar and puree until smooth.
  • Spoon the filling into the cups until it nearly reaches the top.
  • Sprinkle the chocolate chips on top and bake for about 15 minutes, until the cheesecakes have risen and the surfaces are lightly cracked.
  • Let the cheesecakes cool slightly, then transfer the tray to a rack and freeze for 10 minutes, until the cheesecakes are slightly cooled.
  • Serve chilled or at room temperature.

I served these on top of a smattering of raspberry coulis.  Which is as complex as:

Throw some raspberries in a blender, add 1 tbsp powdered sugar and 1 tbsp water.

Blend.  Push through a sieve to remove seeds.  Drizzle (in a pretty swirly pattern).  Devour.

You’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “Consider Me Addicted

  1. Pingback: Heavenly Clouds Of Hazelnut | epicuriousbrit

  2. Pingback: Spring Has Sprung | epicuriousbrit

Leave a Reply

