If You Want Michelle Obama’s Arms

Then maybe you should make these muffins!  Although I have no idea why they are called White House Honey-Oat Muffins

Supposedly its because Spike Mendelsohn, the chef, was inspired by the beehive in the White House Garden.  Not sure I would have chosen these muffins to showcase some amazing honey (the cheap stuff I got from Safeway works just fine!), but they are delicious nonetheless.

Who knows, maybe Michelle Obama does include these as part of her diet.  Either way, I would kill for those arms.  Ah, probably not the most sensible thing to say when talking about the First Lady.  Moving on….

I have been attempting to follow the Food & Wine Diet for the last few weeks and this is one of their breakfast recipes.  I’m not the type of person to get up in the morning and make myself an omelette with a cup of coffee and watch the morning news/read the paper.  I am more of a run out of the shower, grab a Tupperware full of food and head for the bus kinda girl.  These muffins fit perfectly into my morning regime.

I have to be totally honest – they were MUCH nicer when they first came out the oven and were crisp on the outside and all warm and fluffy in the middle.  By the time I got to eat them the next day, they were definitely feeling a little sorry for themselves.  But a handful of strawberries and some Greek yoghurt livened them up.

Overall, I am a fan, and I would make them again because they were flavorful, hearty and didn’t taste like diet food.  They definitely kept me full, not quite till lunch, but at least for a few hours – and that’s pretty good going for me.  I threw in a few fresh blueberries before baking as I love blueberry muffins and figured this was a good way to get a little more fruit into my day.  You could probably grate in some orange zest, or add another kind of berry if you felt so inclined.

photo (29)

White House Honey-Oat Muffins

Adapted from Spike Mendelsohn’s Food & Wine Recipe

INGREDIENTS

  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsps baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries

METHOD

  • Preheat the oven to 375°. Coat a 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray.
  • In a large bowl, mix the oats with the whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, coriander and salt.
  • In another bowl, whisk the honey with the buttermilk, canola oil and eggs. Pour the honey mixture into the dry ingredients; mix just until combined.  Add in the blueberries and  spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups.
  • Bake for about 18 minutes, until they’re golden and a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean. Let the muffins cool in the pan for about 5 minutes, then transfer them to a rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

When you are ready to eat, you can cover them with butter, devour with yoghurt, or if you aren’t watching your weight, slather with clotted cream and jam.  Please.  Someone do it.  I beg of you!

One thought on “If You Want Michelle Obama’s Arms

  1. Pingback: Nuts About Smoothies | epicuriousbrit

Leave a Reply

