Asian Food, Alsatian Wine

I don’t know if you have gathered from my other posts, but I am not exactly a salad person.  An addiction to cheese, all carbs and every kind of meat isn’t exactly conducive to placing salad at the top of my ‘took cook’ or ‘to order’ lists.

But every now and again I have a craving for fresh, crunchy veggies.  My only stipulation is that it must pack a punch of flavour.  Introducing the Vietnamese Chicken Salad.  Quite possibly the healthiest thing I have ever made.

No dairy, no carbs, and no sugar, but still delicious.  Miracles can happen.

Now, if I could just stop washing down all my meals with a bottle of wine, maybe I would loose some weight…  But until then,  I highly recommended pairing this salad with an Alsatian Pinot Blanc.  I enjoyed a bottle of Cave de Ribeauville: light, fruity and floral, with just a hint of sweetness to balance out the spiciness of the dressing.

photo (3)

Vietnamese Chicken Salad

Serves: ME, for lunch and dinner

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 chicken breast, poached and shredded
  • 4 cups Napa cabbage, shredded
  • 2 cups carrot. shredded
  • 1 medium red pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 red chili, seeds removed and sliced
  • 4 spring onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup mint, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup peanuts, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp sesame oil

METHOD

  • Combine all dressing ingredients in a bowl and mix together.
  • Combine everything else in another bowl, toss with dressing, and devour!
Leave a Reply

