Man-Sized Salad

Let me preface this post with a disclaimer…  most of my friends believe that I am a man hater.  And to be honest, that probably isn’t far off the truth.  I have had my fair share of disappointments when it comes to men in my life, and no, I am not just talking about being burned by ex-boyfriends.

On top of this, I also have a reputation for stereotyping men.

Men like sports.  Men like cars.  Men like beer.  You get the gist.  Although I might not always be right, in today’s example, I am yet to be proved wrong…  Men like MEAT.

The very first dinner I cooked my ex-boyfriend was steak.  I genuinely believe that a well cooked piece of meat is the best way to any mans heart.  Well, at least any man I want to date.

Continuing with the theme of stereotypes, what is something men are renowned to hate, and is also the complete antithesis of a big steak dinner…?  Salad.

Until now.

Let me introduce to you, my ultimate steak salad.  You won’t find a lettuce leaf in sight.  In fact some people may beg to disagree that this even qualifies as a salad.  But there are vegetables and a dressing involved, so I am going to run with it.

If you want to rustle up a dinner for your man, that is so good, he will even offer to do the dishes, then this, my friends, is the recipe you need!

Grilled Filet Mignon with Green Bean and Roast New Potato Salad

Serves 2 (I just made half of this as I was only cooking for me.. see, man hater!)

  • 2 steaks of your choice (for me, it’s always filet mignon!)
  • a large bag of green beans, trimmed
  • a large bag of new potatoes (small Yukon golds or something similar), thinly sliced into rounds
  • 1 red onion, cut into quarters and thinly sliced
  • 4 tbsp wholegrain mustard
  • 4 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 8 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp creme fraiche (or sour cream if you can’t find it)
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • a squeeze of lemon juice
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • salt & pepper

METHOD

  • Place your thinly sliced potatoes and onions onto a baking tray, drizzle with olive oil and place in oven at 425 degrees F for about 20-30 minutes.
  • While potatoes are baking, cook steaks to your liking and set aside.  I like them to be medium and cooked on the BBQ.  Usually 5-10 minutes each side does the trick, depending on the thickness of the steak.  Once cooled slightly, slice into 1/2 inch strips.
  • Place green beans in a pan of boiling water and cook for 3-5 minutes.  You want them to still be firm and crisp, but just have the edge taken off them.
  • Then put all your ingredients from mustard down into a blender and blitz until a nice creamy dressing has formed.
  • Take your cooked potatoes, onions and beans and toss with the dressing.
  • Arrange on a plate and top with your steaks!
  • Ideally serve with a big, beefy red wine.  My choice would probably be a Argentinian Malbec or a Napa Cab.

Now you have 2 options… Enjoy watching your man fall more in love with you with every bite.  Or just devour your delicious dinner for one, and make the most of not having to share your wine!

2 thoughts on “Man-Sized Salad

  1. Pingback: The Marriage of Testosterone and Cupcakes | epicuriousbrit

Leave a Reply

