When Life Gives You Limes…

…Usually I make a margarita.  It’s a no brainer.  But, after purchasing a ton of limes to do exactly that, when I was… lets just say, less than coherent, I found myself with more limes than I knew what to do with.

Lemon meringue pie is one of my favourite desserts.  My grandmother has been making it for me for as long as I can remember and it’s one of those treats I so look forward to when I go home.

The American version of a this pie is much heavier on meringue, and is something I have never attempted to make. That is, until I found myself wondering what to do with my excess supply of limes (and my hungover self was unsurprisingly not feeling like a margarita).

I decided to put a twist on the traditional lemon meringue pie and turn it into lime meringue pie.

I was very proud of myself for making this the traditional American way and piling on mounds of fluffy meringue.  I only wish I could have made the top a little crispier… Time to invest in a blow torch methinks.

In keeping with the ‘real-American’ theme, I used a Paula Dean recipe.  To be completely honest, I despise most of her recipes as they are usually full of unhealthy shortcuts.  But I had condensed milk in the cupboard, and a graham cracker crust in the freezer so decided to give it a go.  If, like me, you prefer to make your crust from scratch, this is a good recipe.

The end result was a success.  A tangy and not overly sweet filling and fluffy clouds of meringue that melted with each mouthful.  So if you get drunk and buy too many limes, I recommend you give this a whirl.

Lime Meringue Pie (adapted from Paula Dean’s recipe)

INGREDIENTS

Filling:

  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 teaspoons grated lime zest
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 prepared 9-inch graham cracker crust

Meringue:

  • 4 egg whites
  • 6 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • Pinch salt

METHOD

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and condensed milk.
  • Stir in the lime zest, lime juice, and cream.
  • Pour the filling into the crust and bake about 30 minutes or until firm.
  • Remove pie from oven.
  • Meanwhile, in a medium bowl beat the egg whites until soft peaks form.
  • In a second bowl, stir together the sugar, cornstarch, and salt.
  • Add the sugar mixture, a little at a time, to the egg whites, beating between additions. Continue to beat until the sugar dissolves.
  • Spoon the meringue over the hot pie filling. Torch the meringue to give it’s golden color; or bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Serve pie warm or at room temperature
One thought on “When Life Gives You Limes…

  1. Your picture and recipe look exactly like a mock keylime pie! I have, in the past, publically posted my dislike for lemon pies and my ironic love of keylime pie, so this post has me at odds with myself.

Leave a Reply

