My Latest Obsession

What’s creamy, gooey, sticky and sinfully sweet…?  My latest obsession – Dulce de Leche.  You can make it a number of ways, most of which scare the living daylights out of me (I have no desire to try to scrape boiling condensed milk off my ceiling), so I prefer to take the easier route of simply buying it, in a tin, from the shop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the life of me, I can’t remember why I had 2 tins of La Lechera dulce de leche in my cupboard, but I decided that it was high time I put at least one of them to use.  As usual I did a bit of Googling for inspiration, thanks From Argentina With Love, Smitten Kitchen and David Lebovitz, but settled on cupcakes (again), due to the relentless demands of Neon and Mapper.  I took the cupcake recipe from Joy the Baker and the frosting from Bake or Break Recipes.  I could actually eat the frosting off the spoon, or even spread on toast, it is so, so delicious.  Something about the combination of cream cheese and dulce de leche is quite magical.  The cupcake itself was nice and moist, and not too sweet which worked really well with the rich, creamy frosting.  This will most definitely not be the last time dulche de leche is showcased in one of my desserts.  I am currently trying to decide what to do with my one remaining tin… any suggestions, please send them my way!

I know I have been on a bit of a cupcake stint recently, so I promise the next post will be NON-cupcake related!  My roommates need to expand their recipe request horizons 🙂

Dulce de Leche Frosting

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 & 1/4 cups (about 13 ounces) prepared dulce de leche
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Beat cream cheese and dulce de leche until well-blended.  Mix in vanilla and salt, beating until combined.  DONE!

4 thoughts on “My Latest Obsession

  1. I shall be trying this ASAP as it looks amazing! The first beneficiary shall be my Argentine girlfriend as she has Dulce de Leche pumping through her veins. If all goes well I’ll hopefully get some decent suggestions for you to use with that remaining tin 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Leaving Are Changing… | epicuriousbrit

  3. Pingback: Sugar, Spice & All Things Nice | epicuriousbrit

Leave a Reply

