Clutching at British Straws for St. George’s Day

Today is St. George’s Day, the English equivalent of St. Patrick’s Day (Ireland) and St. David’s Day (Wales).  I am kind of clutching at straws with this post, because it isn’t really a traditional British dish.  But here goes anyway!

If I wasn’t out tonight, I would probably cook something slightly more British, like Bangers & Mash with Heinz Baked Beans.  It’s one of my favourite English comfort foods and something my Mum used to make for us on cold winter nights.  But because it is no longer winter (and because I had some leftover in the fridge), I decided to make a quick snack of asparagus on toast before I head out for the evening. 

In the peak of summer in England, there is nothing better than a handful of fresh local asparagus thrown on the BBQ and drizzled with some reduced balsamic vinegar.  For me, it is a quintessentially English taste, almost as much as strawberries and cream.  In fact, BBQ + asparagus + strawberries and cream = Sarah’s perfect summer evening meal.  Oh, and don’t forget a few pitchers of Pimms

Lucky for me, asparagus is currently in season in SF and I am able to get fresh, locally grown bunches of it at my veggie store for just $1.99.  So tonight, I grabbed a freshly baked ciabatta, some taleggio and goat cheese on my way home from work to concoct a little appetizer of asparagus on toast, two ways.

Cheesy Asparagus on Toast

Serves: 1 hungry girl about to run out the door
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 slices ciabatta
  • 1 garlic clove
  • generous drizzle of olive oil
  • about 10 asparagus spears
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salt & pepper
  • cheese of your choice (I used taleggio and goat cheese)

METHOD

  • Cook asparagus however you prefer – I threw mine on the grill to give it a nice char.
  • Once cooked to your liking (I like mine nice and crunchy), take off the heat, sprinkle with salt & pepper, balsamic vinegar. and set aside.
  • At the same time as cooking the asparagus, take your bread slices and drizzle with olive oil and rub with the garlic clove.
  • Place into a hot frying pan for about 3 minutes each side until golden brown and crispy.
  • For the taleggio toast I piled on half the asparagus spears and topped with cheese.  I then placed under the grill to get gooey.  For the goat toast, I lathered on the cheese and topped with hot asparagus.
  • Plate, and devour.
2 thoughts on “Clutching at British Straws for St. George’s Day

Leave a Reply

