How to Combat Mexico Withdrawal Symptoms

DISCLAIMER: This post has been somewhat delayed in its release due to the 14 bottles of wine that were consumed on Friday night… Better late than never 🙂

After spending 6 nights in the sunshine, sipping tequila on the beach with some great girl friends, I find myself back at work and feeling like I never had a vacation.  I really shouldn’t complain as it is about 75 Degrees (F) in SF today; but being at work on a sunny day just sucks (especially when there is usually more fog than sun in this city!).  So tonight I am cooking up a meal fit for a sunny Friday evening and to help combat my withdrawal from all things Mexican.

It was my birthday last weekend and I had a great party on Baker Beach with some of my best friends.  I was lucky enough to receive numerous bottles of champagne (my favourite tipple) as well as some very thoughtful gifts.  One couple, who shall henceforth be known as Roofdeck gave me a handy new corkscrew – pause for funny story…. 

 
When I first moved into 711, Roofdeck, and another couple who shall henceforth be known as Airport, came over for a few glasses of wine to check out the new place.  Now let me give you some context…  My house is HUGE.  I mean, 2 enormous living rooms, a large dining room, and a gigantic kitchen.  It has been a shared house for more than 5 years and is full of all kinds of random bits and bobs.  For example, we have endless bits of bike and ski equipment scattered around the place,  4 sets of crutches, probably 100 mis-matched plates and a surprising number of beer koozies (thanks Trucker!).  And Neon reckons that if you took all the walls down, you could play football in it.  THAT’s how big my house is.

Anyway, I digress…  So Roofdeck and Airport come over with wine in hand; I grab some glasses and go to the utensils drawer for a corkscrew.  There isn’t one.  In fact not only is there no corkscrew in the utensil drawer, there appears to be no corkscrew anywhere in the entire house.  Those of you who know me well will find this suitably shocking.  A full wine glass is practically an extension of my right arm.  Thankfully one of the guys came to the rescue, and we did manage to get the wine open (breathes a sigh of relief).  But it is now an ongoing joke among my friends, that the girl who drinks more wine than anyone they know, moved into a house without a corkscrew.

That was a very long-winded way of telling you that Roofdeck bought me a handy little corkscrew as my birthday present as well as an awesome lemon/lime combo juicer.  Airport gave me a SUPER cute salt and pepper shaker set shaped as a wine glass and wine bottle, that I just had to put to use at a dinner party. 

So what better way to put my fun new tools to use AND cure myself of the post-Mexico blues, than cook up a semi-Mexican inspired feast with a prelude of mango/white wine sangria (recipe to come) on my sunny deck.  Sounds like a great Friday night to me 🙂

Spicy Tequila & Lime Roast Chicken Thighs

Serves: 6
Prep time: at least an hour for the marinade, overnight if possible
Cook time: about 45 minutes until chicken is golden brown and cooked through

INGREDIENTS

  • 12 boneless chicken thighs
  • 2 large red onions
  • 2 tbps worchestershire sauce
  • 6 limes, juiced
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tbps olive oil
  • 2 tbps chilli powder
  • 1 tbps hot sauce (ideally Tapatio)
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tbps honey
  • ¼ cup tequila
  • 1 tbsp powdered mustard
  • splash of OJ

METHOD

  • Combine all the marinade ingredients (everything but the onion) in a large ziplock bag and add the chicken.  Remove all the air and close the bag, mush the chicken around until it is all nicely coated.  Place in the fridge for at least 1 hour, but ideally overnight.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees and slice the onion into eighths.  Place the chicken and onions in a large roasting dish.  Shake the dish until  everything is evenly covered with marinade.
  • Roast for about 45 minutes until the chicken is nicely browned and going crispy round the edges.  Be careful not to burn the onions.

Black Bean & Corn Salad

Prep time: as long as it takes you to chop the veggies and mix!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large tin of black beans
  • 1 large tin of sweetcorn
  • 2 red peppers, finely diced
  • 8 spring onions, finely diced
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • A big bunch of cilantro
  • 2 tsps cumin
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

METHOD

Chop all the ingredients that need chopping, add to a bowl, combine other ingredients and give a stir.  Serve!  SEEMPLES 🙂

Mini Baked Potatoes with Chive Sour Cream

Cook time: 1-1.5 hours

INGREDIENTS

  • 12 – 15 small Yukon Gold / Fingerling potatoes
  • 1 large tub of sour cream
  • a handful of finely chopped chives
  • Salt & pepper

METHOD

  • Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees F.  Prick the potatoes a few times with a fork then place on a baking tray and put in the oven. 
  • While they cook combine the sour cream, chives and salt & pepper in a dish.
  • When the potatoes are ready, slices a small cross in the top of each one and with your thumbs and forefingers push upwards to split the skin.  Be careful, they will be very hot!
  • Dollop some sour cream on top of each potato and serve.
One thought on “How to Combat Mexico Withdrawal Symptoms

  1. Pingback: The King of Quinoa Salads | epicuriousbrit

Leave a Reply

