No Cook Thursdays

So after impressing myself by cooking last night, I decided the kitchen was definitely off-limits tonight.  Lucky for me there is this great little invention known as the food truck.  One of the things I love most about SF is the diverse cuisine, and food trucks out here are no exception. 

Whether you want curry, curry in a burrito, Filipino, Filipino in a burrito, or just a plain old cupcake, SF has a food truck to tickle your tastebuds; and on Thursday nights a group of them congregate at an event called Off The Grid only a few blocks from my house.  YAY.

 

Tonight, Neon and I ventured out to enjoy some Senor Sisig burritos and CupKates cupcakes.  Now I ask you, how do you take an amazing burrito and push it beyond the realms of deliciouness….?  Add fries.  I know, I know, it sounds crazy.  But try it.  I promise you will never look back (especially if you suffer from a heart attack due to the immense amount of calories contained in one burrito!).

Now you all know how much I love baking cupcakes…   But I have to admit that I still have a long way to go to compete with CupKates. 

 

Between our group we shared Lemon Meringue Pie, Double Chocolate, Red Velvet, Vanilla Bean and Salted Caramel.  All of which were simply scrumptious.

While we are on the subject of food trucks, another one of my favourites is The Creme Brûlée Man.  If you work downtown you can usually find him on Market & Sutter during the lunch rush.  My recommendation is the Vanilla Bean – can’t go wrong with a classic!  When you are having a really shitty day, head on down and try it.  He won’t fail to cheer you up.

One thought on “No Cook Thursdays

  1. I have been wanting to try the creme brûlée cart! Do you work downtown?? We should get lunch soon.

    Also, CupKate’s Twinkie cupcake is to die for. It’s a special so they don’t always have it, but when they do… pounce on that.

Leave a Reply

