A Cheaper Alternative to Therapy

It’s been a rough few days, and tonight I felt like I needed some comfort food.  My ultimate “make me feel better” dish for when I am exhausted and emotionally drained is a baked potato.  There is something about the fluffy, warm inside and the crisp outer shell that takes me to my happy place.  One of my favourite appetizers to order at a restaurant is potato skins, so tonight I decided to merge the two together.  The end result is a perfect marriage of cheesy, unctuous potato and salty bacon and it hit the nail on the head.  Now I am off to bed with a belly full of carbs.  Goodnight!

Non-Skinny Potatoes

Serves:  1 tired girl
Preparation time:  10 minutes
Cooking time:  about 2 hours

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large baking potato (I used russet)
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • a splash of cream / milk
  • 5 spring onions, thinly sliced
  • 4 strips of bacon, cooked to a crisp
  • 1 cup of cheese of your choice, grated (I used cheddar)
  • salt & pepper

METHOD

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F and pop potato on the middle shelf.
  • Place bacon on a baking tray and put on top shelf of the oven. Cook until crisp – about 10 minutes.
  • Sautée spring onions in some olive oil.  Set aside the bacon and onions.
  • Grate the cheese and set aside.
  • The potato should be cooked after about an hour, but I left mine in for an hour and half to ensure a super crispy skin.
  • Once the potato is ready, very carefully cut it in half, lengthways.
  • Scoop out the potato and place in a bowl with sour cream, butter, cream and salt & pepper.  Mash together.
  • Break the bacon up into small bits and sprinkle into potato mix and add the onions.  Mix together.  Sprinkle in half the cheese.
  • Take your potato skin and spoon the mixture into each one and top with remaining cheese. Place back on the baking tray and cook for a further 15 – 20 minutes until the top starts to bubble and turn golden brown.  Eat straight away, but don’t burn your mouth!

This is something I would usually make as a side dish, but tonight it was all I needed.  You could serve alongside a steak, or even just with a green salad if you want it to be the star of the show.

One thought on “A Cheaper Alternative to Therapy

Leave a Reply

