What An Egg-chievement

This weekend I decided I wanted to challenge myself in the kitchen.  Probably not the greatest idea with a hangover, but nevertheless I gave it a go.  This challenge consisted of poaching 8 eggs and making hollandaise sauce, which I have never attempted before.

I love a good eggs benedict but am not a fan of canadian bacon, so I came up with my own twist which has been coined ‘The 711 Benedict’.  I cooked brunch for 3 friends and I’m happy to say, I was able to rise to the challenge: 7 out of 8 eggs were poached perfectly and the hollandaise tasted, well, like hollandaise.  Success all round.  If you fancy taking on this challenge, the recipe is as follows.

The 711 Benedict

Serves: 4
Preparation Time: 10 minutes 
Cooking Time: 20 minutes

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 wholewheat english muffins, slices in half
  • 1 pack of bacon
  • 2 packs of mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, whole
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 tbsp distilled white vinegar

METHOD

  • Crack eggs individually into small cups and place in the fridge.  This makes it easier to poach them later.
  • Slice mushrooms and sautee with whole garlic cloves.  Set aside.
  • Cook bacon however you want, I usually bake in the oven at 400 degrees F for about 15 minutes.  Place on kitchen roll to soak up excess fat.
  • Boil water in 2 large pans.  They should be wide and reasonably deep.  Add vinegar.
  • Toast muffins.
  • Take the eggs out of the fridge and gently tip into boiling water keeping a good distance between each of them.  I used 2 pans so the eggs had room to cook.  The cooking time depends on how firm you like your eggs.  I cooked mine for 4-5 minutes until the yolks were still runny.  Be careful getting the eggs out of the pan – I managed to break one and lost the yolk 😦 I recommend using a large, slotted spoon with a gentle touch.
  • Build your benedict.  I placed slices of bacon on the muffins, covered with mushrooms, topped with the eggs and drizzled over a helping of hollandaise.

Hollandaise Sauce

I used Tyler Florence’s recipe from Food Network.  I followed the recipe to the letter and it worked out great.  It’s handy to have someone help you with this, as it needs to be whisked constantly and essentially at the same time you need to poach the eggs.  Having 4 hands would be ideal, but if you do not meet this criteria, ask someone to help you!

Breakfast potatoes

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 medium red potatoes
  • 1 large white onion
  • 1 tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • a good drizzle of olive oil
  • mixed herbs
  • salt & pepper

METHOD

  • Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F.
  • Roughly chop potatoes and onion.
  • Place into baking tray and cover with oil, spices, herbs, salt & pepper.
  • Bake for 20 minutes, stir the potatoes around and bake for a further 30 – 40 minutes. You want them to be nice and crisp.
2 thoughts on “What An Egg-chievement

Leave a Reply

