Glass-Shatteringly Good Carrot Cake Cupcakes

I ADORE carrot cake, but am very particular about the ingredients list.  No nuts please, no grated apple, just plain and simple carrot cake.  I have tried a few recipes over the years, but the best carrot cupcakes I have ever eaten were coutrtsey of Mrs. Linda Long, my Uncle’s partner’s mother.  I have been thinking about them since Linda made them as part of a delicious Easter Sunday lunch in 2010.  I was at home in England last week and my Grandma gave me a copy of the recipe Linda gave her.  (We are very good at sharing in my family). 

The new recipe was given a test run this weekend as I had friends over for brunch.  I put my new fancy pink digital scales to use as the recipe is in grams.  (Thanks Mum!)

They are undoubtedly the best carrot cake cupcakes I have ever made.  Just the right balance of sweetness and spice, and perfectly moist but not too dense.  Thanks Linda and Grandma for introducing me to this brilliant recipe – I won’t ever use another one again!

The Ultimate Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Makes 12
Preparation time: 10 minutes
Baking time: 20-22 minutes

INGREDIENTS

  • 175g light brown sugar
  • 100g wholemeal flour
  • 100g all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 orange, zested
  • 200g carrots, grated
  • 2 eggs
  • 150ml sunflower oil

METHOD

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line baking tray with cupcake cases.
  • In a large mixing bowl combine the flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, orange zest and spices.
  • In another bowl, whisk together the eggs and oil then add to the flour mixture.
  • Stir in the grated carrot and divide among the cupcakes cases.  The mixture will be very thick, but don’t panic.  This is how it should be.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes until a skewer poked in comes out clean and the middles spring back when pressed.  Leave on a wire rack to cool. 

Cream Cheese Frosting

So there is an interesting story that accompanies the making of this frosting… There is this bug (an earwig I think) that seems to have decided to take up residence in my pink KitchenAid mixing bowl.  This does not make me happy.  In an effort to extract the bug from its unrightful home I swung the mixing bowl out the french doors off my kitchen.  Unfortunately I have really bad aim and managed to smash the bowl into the glass.  Moral of the story: Don’t kill bugs.  It will come back and bite you in the ass.

 INGREDIENTS

  • 100g butter
  • 200g cream cheese
  • 125g icing sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp orange juice, freshly squeezed

METHOD

  • Combine butter, cream cheese and vanilla extract in a mixing bowl.
  • Add icing sugar in stages until it is all incorporated.
  • Lastly pour in the orange juice and mix.  The final mixture should be spreadable rather than pipe-able.
6 thoughts on “Glass-Shatteringly Good Carrot Cake Cupcakes

  1. Hi there! Firstly, it’s so nice meet you 🙂 I’m Cara.

    Those mittens are adorable; I think I might actually cook more if I had a pair! Oh, and sweet mercy those cupcakes look decadent! Carrot cake is one of those desserts that can turn out dastardly if not done correctly. The frosting, too, looks divine!

    So sorry to hear about your window. An earwig? *shudders* Yuck! Maybe tis time to take some raid down below and annihilate those little buggers — literally!

    Blessings,
    Cara

    • Hi Cara,

      Thanks for the note! The cupcakes were great… its always nice to bake from a ‘foolproof’ recipe!

      I never find earwigs ANYWHERE apart from in my kitchen aid… no idea why when its totally clean. But I learnt my lesson… no more violence in the kitchen.

      Best,

      Sarah

Leave a Reply

