Anna Banana

I have a love/hate relationship with bananas…  I don’t really like them, unless they are blitzed up in a smoothie or baked in a cake. Or, covered in caramel in a banoffee pie.  I believe this is because my mother force fed them to my sisters and me as children.  In fact, this affected my younger sister so much, she actually has a fear of bananas.  This week, I had some very ripe, leftover banana’s (because I didn’t make enough smoothies), so I decided to bake a banana bread.  My trusty sous chef, Neon, joined me in the kitchen… ironically her real name rhymes with banana, but only IF you talk with an American accent.

If you recall, I mentioned in my post “If Marilyn Monroe was a cupcake” that sometimes converting British to American recipes doesnt work.  Well this is one of those ocassions.  I can’t put my finger on exactly what went wrong, but this banana bread is just not like the one I make in England.  Neon has just informed me that I am too self-critical, and that its actually very tasty.  So if you want to give it a go, here is the recipe…

 

 

 

Banana Bread Not The British Way

Serves: This recipe makes 1 loaf, so depends how hungry you are
Preparation time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: 45 minutes

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks), plus extra to grease the loaf tin
  • 1 cup brown sugar plus extra to sprinkle on top
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsps vanilla extract
  • 3 medium very ripe bananas (totally brown is fine), mashed
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

METHOD

  • Preheat overn to 350 degrees F, and grease the loaf tin with butter.
  • Place butter in your pink KitchenAid mixer and mix until light and fluffy.
  • Add sugar and mix for 2 minutes on medium-high.
  • Crack eggs into butter mixture one at a time, and mix until combined.
  • Add vanilla extract and mashed banana.  Combine.
  • Sieve together the flour, salt, bicarbonate and baking powder and add to the wet ingredients.
  • Pour the mixture into the buttered loaf tin and sprinkle with extra brown suagr.
  • Place in oven for approximately 45 minutes, or until the top is a dark golden brown or you can place a knife in the centre and it comes out clean.
  • Leave in loaf tin to cool, then tip out and serve in thick slices.  Great for breakfast!
2 thoughts on “Anna Banana

Leave a Reply

